Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

3-Way AMT XO in VituixCAD am I doomed to fail or is this going to work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-Way AMT XO in VituixCAD am I doomed to fail or is this going to work?

I'm looking to see if I'm on the right track for this crossover. Drivers are all Dayton Audio (ESoteric 5 1/2" Woofer / AMT3 Mid / AMT2 Tweeter). I know that speaker placement and box will have a lot to do with how it all works together. But the question remains am I on the right track with this or am I going down a path of cash destruction? Can I trust the software or do I relay need to build the speakers, buy a mic and test the drivers first? I'm new to XO design and don't relay know if I'm missing something here. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Nope (not good).

You must've not noticed your "summed impedance" curve in your impedance window. It's that LOWest (grey) plot. It shows an impedance below 1ohm across the board (until you get waay up into the top octave where it rises closer to 1.5 ohms). This is a result of putting your filter "shunts" (to ground) out "in front" of the series components (on the AMP side - on the left).

On the woofer: move the "Zobel" (RC shunt) over to the right, next to the driver.
    On the tweeter: move THAT shunt also over next to the driver.
    On the mid: you need to use a SERIES coil & cap inline w/the mid to make a usable "bandpass" filter, not just their shunt components.

Now go back and fiddle around w/your parts' values 'til you get similar filter profiles to what you had before (now that your impedance issues are solved).
    I THINK you'll need 2nd orders on the mid's bandpass filter, and you have NO baffle-step compensation in your response curve.

Comment