Stock resistor value for Dayton Audio B652 Air tweeter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stock resistor value for Dayton Audio B652 Air tweeter

Hello good people. I added a crossover to my B652 Airs but since I cut out the resistor in the tweeter circuit I need to pad it now. What is the stock impedance of the B652 Air? I want to match impedance with the woofer which is 8 ohms so I need to know the stock impedance plus the difference to make 8 ohms. Since I'm new to this how would I put the resistor in the tweeter path?

Anyone?

Comment

Your crossover SIM doesn't give you some idea what value to use?
      Francis

Comment

There is a 6.8uF cap and a 3 ohm resistor in series with the air tweeter, but there is a lot of room of improvement to be made. Do some googling on crossover mods. noaudiophile did an in-depth review as well as others.
        My Builds - Vigor (Nola Brio Knockoff) - Overnight Sensations w/ Voxel - Speedsters in surplus boxes - Zaph B3N's in bamboo - Classix II in BR-1 cabinets - Dual TPA3116 D2 amp in an old music box - Mariposas

Comment

If I can ask, exactly what crossover did you "add" to your Airs?

Comment

Maybe this might prove useful:

http://www.zaphaudio.com/Dayton-B652.html

Geoff

Comment

• LOUT
              LOUT commented
              Editing a comment
              The XaphAudio review has some good points for improving the box and woofer, but it's looking at the standard tweeter version instead of the B652AIR and its AMT style tweeter which probably benefits from a different crossover or crossover-mod compared to that older version.