For some questions about Paul Carmody's Voxel SUB, please ask for help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For some questions about Paul Carmody's Voxel SUB, please ask for help

Click image for larger version  Name:	W5-1138SMF-help.png Views:	0 Size:	36.8 KB ID:	1441128
    I am a novice DIY speaker, I believe some friends know.
    I want to install the speaker on the front or bottom. So I adjusted the size of the original cabinet, the volume is 7.8L. I don't know if my adjustment is correct, I hope to get your guidance. The plate I use is 18mm mdf, I bought a PVC pipe with an inner diameter of 38mm, and there is another kind of Port, which helps me choose the better.

Click image for larger version  Name:	QQ图片20200520153052.png Views:	0 Size:	149.9 KB ID:	1441129
    Click image for larger version  Name:	QQ图片20200522170959.png Views:	0 Size:	437.2 KB ID:	1441130

I uploaded the SketchUp document to the Internet, which can be downloaded and viewed

http://www.9sheng.cn/W5-1138SMF-help.rar

Thanks again to Paul Carmody's for such an excellent design, and thanks to KEtheredge87 for sharing a lot of Voxel information.

Your box should work OK.
    I'd consider 38mm a MINimum dia. for the port - and still it's prone to chuffing. I'd put it on the back (at any rate - aim it AWAY from your listening postion).
    Even if the original Voxel used a 38mm port, the large roundovers (on the ends) cut down chuffing a LOT !
    Can you roundover (at least) your port's exit from the box (most people use a roundover bit in a router to do that).
    It's also recommended that your inside port ends one diameter from an interior wall (that would be 3.8cm). I think you've got 2.4cm? (it's possibly OK though)

Comment

Originally posted by Chris Roemer View Post
      Your box should work OK.
      I'd consider 38mm a MINimum dia. for the port - and still it's prone to chuffing. I'd put it on the back (at any rate - aim it AWAY from your listening postion).