New Member OB project thoughts.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member OB project thoughts.

I am embarking on my second speaker build exploration. The first was .... Meh. It was some towers using GRS BOFU clones. Proof of concept, and delivered adequate sound/stage.

Now I would like to step up to something a little, stress a "little", more complex.

I have ZERO experience with, and very little understanding of, x-overs theory. I read about them incessantly, but beyond what they are and what they do conceptually, it's like reading Greek.

What I would like to do is build a pair of small-ish open baffle speakers. I say smallish, but I'm open to pretty much whatever.

My ideal situation would be to build them from solid wood or high quality sheet goods. I'm a woodworker by trade, so no problem there.

Further, I would like to build them using parts found here, at PE. Preferred that they are on the inexpensive end of the spectrum, and using an off the shelf, prebuilt x-over.

So, with the above stipulations, what would be your recommendation (s) for drivers and x-over?

Bear in mind, I'm looking to build these as a way of getting some hands on experience building speakers with x-overs, but will continue to research them with an eye toward making my own eventually.

Listening room is approx 24 x 12x 8. Wood floors with rugs, brick walls.
    I listen to IT ALL. Rock to jazz to classical.

Budget is not Paramount, but is a major, major concern. So I would like to keep it at around $200 or less if possible.

How low do you want to extend your frequency response ?

Comment

Would you be okay with a 3way design that has the subwoofer in a box while the midwoofer and tweeter are open-baffle, or do you want/need the woofer to be open-baffle too?