Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8 inch Studio Monitor Driver Suggestion

Hi,
    I am new to DIY and would like to build a pair of box for studio use.
    I am aiming at 8 inch woofer plus horn tweeter. Mainly for R&B music and vocal in a 200 sf studio.
    Could you please help to see if following combination works? Or please share a better solution if you happen to have.
    Woofer: Dayton Audio RS225-8 8" Reference Woofer (or designer 8", not sure the difference between these 2)
    Tweeter: Eminence APT-80 Super Tweeter with 80 degree Conical Horn
    Crossover: Dayton Audio XO2W-3.5K 2-Way Speaker Crossover 3,500 Hz
    thanks

I wouldn't use that tweeter. It's OK for PA, but not for a studio monitor. A 1" dome will give much better results.
    www.billfitzmaurice.com
    www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

I'd use a 1" dome tweeter in a waveguide, to better match the woofer dispersion. I doubt any off the shelf crossover will work well without a lot of massaging.
      Francis

Comment

3500hz is awfully high to be crossing an 8. 1500 might be a better target to shoot for. Another 8 to consider would be this one. These Peeerless drivers sound very good, and are relatively easy to work with, crossover wise.
        Peerless by Tymphany 830869 8" Nomex Cone HDS Woofer

Comment

Originally posted by cooper View Post
          3500hz is awfully high to be crossing an 8. 1500 might be a better target to shoot for. Another 8 to consider would be this one. These Peeerless drivers sound very good, and are relatively easy to work with, crossover wise.
          Those are pretty nice sounding if they aren't pushed too hard. I think I'd use two in an MTM if it was for studio use.
          Francis

Comment