Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book Shelves for $350-$400

Hello all,

I’ve been gone for 8-9 years keeping busy with other things. I still see a lot of familiar names on the forum.

I am looking to build a nice setup for an employee as a housewarming present. Looking for a Bluetooth enabled amp and a bookshelf pair that doesn’t need a sub for a total build cost between $500 and $600.

I see the Lepai amp for $110. Are there better amp options?

I am a decent woodworker and want to do the boxes myself, but I don’t have a cnc so any of the multi-faceted cabinets are likely out of the question.

thanks in advance

I was going to build these for someone, but the amp module was backordered. Lots of projects incorporating the electronics into the speakers these days. I would personally buy Dayton or SMSL brand over Lepai if you want a separate amp. And, there are bare amp modules available for you to incorporate into any speaker cabinet you choose, if you're making them yourself.

http://projectgallery.parts-express....ized/tiny-tym/

Comment

Jeff Bagby Helix mt from diysoundgroup goes to 40hz, 8ohm, includes cnc baffle. 342 dollars. Wolfs Zingers at Meniscus are under 300, no baffle included. Personally, I would choose one of those with no sub in a bookshelf size wrt price and low end. Wolf and Chuck have some great looking designs with Rival 7 inchers at RAD design also that are worth a look, and Paul Carmody has some mt bookshelfs that you may like. Sorry, not allowed to link directly to them. Glenn.

Comment

• DParsons
        DParsons commented
        Editing a comment
        The Helix MTM is a certain contender, I was considering building the Continuum's prior to departing the hobby years ago.

• djg
        djg commented
        Editing a comment
        My next project.

I'm a big Zingers fan, but I just don't see them as bookshelf size. 16" x 11.5" x 14" was my result honoring Wolf's baffle and volume specs. They are truly full range.