Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is Minwax Poly The Most Evil Substance In The World?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Minwax Poly The Most Evil Substance In The World?

I completed a project last October. Now, almost 8 months later, it's still outstenching and outgassing. It just won't stop smelling. My question is: will it ever stop? Or, will it stench forwver?

I've used Minwax Spar in the past on a door, and after a week, there was no stench. I've used traditional lacquer, and after a short while, it was fine. But, this stuff? It's just stenching on and on.

Some other horrible things it did was that it dripped like crazy. If I turned my head, it dripped as if on purpose. And, it streaked. Didn't self-level well at all. Hard to apply evenly. Any advice?

I've been using Formby's Tung Oil for 40 years, because it's so easy to apply and virtually impossible to mess up and it's absolutely waterproof. Use enough coats and you can even get a piano finish, like this:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	bass.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	1444699

www.billfitzmaurice.com
    www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

Hey Supermike - It sounds like you might be applying the minwax poly really heavy. I know tomzarbo uses the stuff on his projects and seems to like it. I tend to use General Finishes Arm-r-seal poly (oil base) or their High Performance (water based poly). Both of those products can drip and run if I go too heavy on the wipe coat. You might also be having an issue where the poly layers built up too heavy, and too quickly, so that the first layers did not get a chance to dry completely. Adding layers on top of still-curing ones can trap the solvents underneath and make them slowly dissipate over time...if they can even escape at all.

I know that doesn't really help you get rid of the smell now... just offering some potential reasons for what's happening.

Good luck bud!
      Voxel Down Firing with Dayton SA70