Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Balancing SPL of Woofer and Tweeter

Hi, all!

I have two questions. The first one is theoretical because I am a newbie with electronics and want to make sure I am understanding that side.
    1) Can I use a resistor in parallel with a tweeter to lower its SPL to be closer to that of a woofer?

The second question is because I am trying to build speakers the right way....
    2) Even if I am understanding the electronics theory correctly, is using a resistor in this way acceptable/recommended?

I have attached a simple (possibly crude) diagram showing a first-order high-pass filter for an 8 Ohm woofer rated at 97 dB/W and then a first-order high-pass filter for a 4 Ohm tweeter rated at 104 dB/W. My thought was, if I have the tweeter in parallel with a 6 Ohm resistor, the power going to the tweeter will be lowered and the SPL of the woofer and tweeter will be close.

I'm in over my head, so please correct anything I have wrong - if it's too much, I'll hold off on the speakers and do more learning :D

Circuit resistance = 10.4 Ohms
    We'll say the amplifier is delivering 20 W to the circuit.
    The voltage for the circuit is 14.42 V

Voltage across SPKR1 = (8/10.4) * 14.42 = 11.09 Volts
    Voltage across SPKR2 = (2.4/10.4) * 14.42 = 3.33 Volts

Power to SPKR1 = 11.092/8 = 15.37 W
    Power to SPKR2 = 3.332/4 = 2.77 W

SPKR1 = 99.2 dB SPL at 10 ft
    SPKR2 = 98.7 dB SPL at 10 ft

I plugged the relevant values into this website: https://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html and it seems like the apparent SPL of the two drivers are very close.

I went through the same steps with the arbitrary value of 150 W to the circuit
    Power to SPKR1 = 115W
    Power to SPKR2 = 20.79W

SPKR1 = 107.9 dB SPL at 10 ft
    SPKR2 = 107.5 dB SPL at 10 ft

Thank you in advance for your time and responses! :D

Jess

Howdy.