Fisher console - would like to modernize with updated speakers/crossovers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fisher console - would like to modernize with updated speakers/crossovers

So I acquired a Fisher Coronet console from a local thrift store for $20. The bones are good but the console was mostly gutted (see pics). I would like to outfit it with some new hardware, but I have to confess I am a complete novice when it comes to assembling speakers, and I don't even know where to start. I can tell you that it appears to have had 12" bass drivers based on the cutout at the bottom, 6.5" mids and 3.5" tweets (I haven't removed the old drivers yet to confirm). I would like to update all speakers and install new crossovers to match, but I am overwhelmed by all of the technical aspects (like imepdance and whether or not all speakers should be the same [4/8/16 ohm] and if I should build a crossover or purchase one that is already assembled for starters). I am having a hard time finding a replacement to the original Fisher receiver/amp that was installed, and may go with a more modern (70s/80s) solid state device like the Pioneer my dad had when I was a kid.

My apologies if this is covered in another (or several other) thread. I would appreciate any advice I can get from this forum.

So, where are you coming from? Do you want to play LPs on a turntable and listen to FM radio, or go more modern?

You want to be able to play and control your media with the console doors closed. I would anyway.

Can you get that awesome grill cloth off without damage? If so, I'd trash that original baffle and put a pair of Le Singe Sarcophages in, big cheap 3 ways. If you want to spend a bunch of money, the sky's the limit. Others here can help with all the modern media available.

$20, what a deal.

Comment