Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How are you suppose to enclose Planar Transducers for midrange?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How are you suppose to enclose Planar Transducers for midrange?

I want to try a project using Neo8-PDR planars for midrange xo 300 to maybe 2k while I'll play around with with an active crossover, but I have never used planars before. Does enclosure volume matter with these for midrange use and does it need a separate enclosure from woofer/tweeter? I would like any advice on the proper usage.

I have not used them either, but from other comments, I believe it should be large enough not to damp the diaphragm, and I have seen them tapered as to reduce refection. Usually stuffed away from the driver.
    Their own chamber of course. BG intends them to be di-pole on a large baffle. Keep us posted. I would love to see their response without the drop off a di-pole baffle.

Comment

I'm trying the Neo8 in a 3" deep waveguide for midrange and up, in a 2 way system. I haven't done much beyond a prototype using a NE315W-08. I know this is unconventional. I'm using a MiniDSP HD and Sure 4 channel amp. So far the sound is promising. Paul K generously designed a T/L chamber for the NE315, and the Neo 8 is in a separate open back chamber. I have only the one cabinet, the other is similar, but includes an NE265W-08 and a HiVi RT2C(?) tweeter. This configuration is definitely not worthwhile, and I have replaced the planar driver with the Peerless Corundum dome. The NE265 and Corundum dome are promising. I know the above is a bit off the topic, but mention it as I have an extra prototype waveguide you can have for the cost of shipping.

Comment

Everything you need to know is right here, including 'a carefully designed rear enclosure provides additional equalization at the low end of the reproduced frequency spectrum.' https://www.parts-express.com/pedocs...ions-44311.pdf
        www.billfitzmaurice.com