Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soldering Iron

Hi,

I'm new to speaker projects and soldering in general. I did a search and didn't come up with anything, so I figured I's ask:

Can someone recommend what to look for when purchasing a soldering iron? What wattage is best or should I be looking for something with variable wattage? Is there anything else I should consider?

Thanks

Look at Hakko, you will have it for decades.

Comment

I think I mostly use a hundred-year-old $7 "pencil" - from RadioShack.
      I can get pretty good results if I keep the tip cleaned/tinned and occasionally "shaped" a bit w/a file.

Comment

This thread has me curious - I know using a low powered iron is not recommended due to having to leave it on components for too long (causing damage); but is using a high powered gun a bad idea, say 200w?

Comment

I bought the 120 dollar one back when I had a tool allowance. An older model with a knob and flashing LED. Pictured in the header. The avionics guys like the 58 dollar one because it is one piece and easier to manage in a tight cockpit.

https://www.parts-express.com/brand/...randSelected=t

Comment

Too small an iron means you wind up on the connection for too long, heat soaking further up the terminal, wire, or if a PWB, lifting pads.