Please validate my understanding of crossovers and resistance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please validate my understanding of crossovers and resistance

So this is a stupid question for most folks around here...I'm a rank amateur at this, and have tried to read through these forums and other places about a question I had, and I think I understand it now but would like for someone to validate it for me...

Say you were using a 2-way crossover to hook up a woofer and a tweeter, and each of those speakers were 8 ohm. The resistance seen by the amp is therefore also 8 ohms.

If you were to hook up 2 tweeters to that crossover, along with the one woofer, all 8 ohm units -> the amp would see 8 ohm resistance on the woofer side and then 4 ohms on the tweeter side...right? So I guess kind of a variable load there that depending on the frequency of what's being sent down could vary anywhere from 4 to 8 ohms (changing impedance from the speakers themselves notwithstanding). As long as the amp can handle a 4-ohm load, this is still OK right?

And if you had 2 8 ohm tweeters and 2 8 ohm woofers hooked up to that crossover, everything would look like 4 ohms.

I think that's how it works - but if I'm wrong please tell me

Hard to say exactly. Once you hook the wrong impedance to a crossover, all you can really say for sure is it will malfunction.
    Francis

Comment

At a high level, you're correct. A pair of parallel 8 ohm woofers or tweeters will look like a 4 ohm load for their frequency range after the crossover.

As you allude.. it's not that simple due to the changing resistance of the drivers vs. frequency. Also, the crossover points will change drastically with a different driver load.
      Electronics engineer, woofer enthusiast, and musician.
      Wogg Music
      Published projects: PPA100 Bass Guitar Amp, ISO El-Cheapo Sub, Indy 8 2.1 powered sub, MicroSat, SuperNova Minimus

Comment

Originally posted by wogg View Post