Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help design a 2way crossover

Hello
    I am a beginner, am I on the right track or are there design errors?
    https://www.parts-express.com/peerle...-ohm--264-1381
    https://www.parts-express.com/bc-10h...ofer--294-678#!

Make C1 about 6uf, and L1 about .3mH. See if it's better. Add a resistor, or two to the tweeter for padding.

For padding try 6 ohms in parralel with the tweeter, and 3 or 4 ohms just after the xo.

The woofer response looks OK, but it seems like a simpler filter would work. Try 3mH, and 12uf for example on the woofer.

That tweeter is minimum order of 1000.

Comment

• djg
      djg commented
      Editing a comment
      That means the tweeter is not in stock, and needs a minimum order of 1,000. Essentially unobtainable. Good for design practice I guess.

Thank you I will try....

Comment

Hello from Australia

From the links provided, you have a 10"woofer and a 1" tweeter with a resonant frequency (Fs) of 1750 Hz.

I don't know much about XO design, but from reading posts by experienced PETT members, the tweeter should be crossed at about double the Fs (3500Hz) and any 10" woofer might have trouble crossing that high. It looks from the supplied FR graph that it might be a stretch?

Also, the off-axis response of the woofer isn't supplied - it may drop off quite a bit compared to the published graph which I would think is on -axis.

Do you already have the drivers - the woofer is noted as out of stock.

Geoff

Comment

• khaled
        khaled commented
        Editing a comment
        No, I don't have drivers, just trying to learn the design method.
        I know you all will help me

So, I just used your XO w/the 4n(ohm) vers. of that same tweeter.
      I end up w/about a -10dB hole centered around 4kHz.

W/the next suggestion (and adding a 10n series resistor "out front") at least the tweeter's level gets more reasonable w/only about a -4dB hole @ 4k.