Compressor Recs Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compressor Recs Needed

Looking to get a new compressor, but am not planning to do any auto work with it. Highest CFM requirement is likely from the sprayer (and would be doing a lot of this with kitchen cabinets, enclosures, furniture, etc) otherwise mostly for nailing & inflating. I am considering the Fortress 27gallon from Harbor Freight and would be willing to purchase the comparable Dewalt if it’s much better.

My question is, is there a better option of similar pricing for what I need? It seems the high psi doesn’t seem as necessary so may be paying for what isn’t needed.

For reference, I don’t want a stand alone sprayer such as Fuji because I also want something to push a roofing nailer.

Thoughts?

I've been using air compressors every day for many years. I own three Makitas. They are among the quietest I've heard. They are cheap, well made and very heavy for their size. The reason I own three is the smaller one, a ten year old single tank "hot dog" unit started leaking oil, so it stays in the garage on a piece of cardboard. The twin tank one has nearly the same motor and pump, just more air storage and of course it's even heavier.

Most small, cheap compressors are insanely loud. It seems they are all rated at 80db, but of course that's the end of the spec. The Makitas turn slower, so while they make plenty of noise it's not the irritating sort of racket you get from a DeWalt or such. For bigger jobs, I have a belt driven twin cylinder that doesn't make much more noise than one of the Makitas. I sometimes take it to bigger job sites and leave it there to supply air for everyone just so I don't have to listen to those abominable things that everyone else tolerates. Life's too short for that BS.