Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Collaborative Crossover HiVi RT1.3WE and Tang Band W6-1721

Hi All

JamesTan started a thread here and wasn't satisfied with his current speaker build and thought he might need to add a better midrange driver. However, the consensus was that he likely needed a more refined crossover, as he designed the crossover with manufactured specs and didn't have measuring equipment. I realized after following the thread for a few days that I actually had both of these drivers in my basement so offered to build a replica of his cabinet and measure the frd and zma. While I have a measurement microphone, I am not experienced with crossover design so we are hoping some of the experienced members can help out.

jhollander and PWR RYD I'm pretty sure you have both used this tweeter...even if you don't have time to mock-up a xo, any recommendations on how low the tweeter can go and any peaks you needed to tame?

Some basic inputs:
    • Cabinet: 35 cm (13.75") tall and 22 cm (8.625") wide. Tweeter center 7.5 cm (3") from top an woofer center 22.6 cm (8.875") from top
    • Tweeter and Woofer centered on baffle (0.0 m x-offset)
    • Woofer center-to-center is 6" below tweeter (-0.152 m y-offset)
    • I used Jeff Bagby's method to determine acoustic offset and came up with 0.004 m. Yes, this is positive. However, I built it with a removable baffle and can actually look at the relative distance and I think assuming zero would be good enough.
    • Speakers sit on a TV console about 10" from wall so take that into consideration when implementing BSC.
    • Measurements were with a UMIK-1 USB microphone 25" (0.635 m) from tweeter, in cabinet. FRD files were run through response blender to get minimum phase.
    • However, I did NOT measure nearfield and blend low frequency range to frd curve. If I NEED to do this, please let me know, but I think many people design the xo without this.