First time subwoofer design questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time subwoofer design questions

Ive been looking into building a subwoofer for a friend of mine to round out his home theater after he finishes some home renovations. I'm trying to stay within a reasonable budget but still end up with something that will sound great and produce some quality low end. Right now I'm looking at using the Dayton DCS205­4 8" Classic Sub paired with a Dayton SA70 plate amp. I built Paul C's Swopes for my own home theater so I have some speaker building experience but I've never designed an enclosure before so it's been a learning experience. As I've been going through this process I've been running into a lot of things I haven't thought of before or didn't realize were things to consider (chuffing for instance).

So far I have downloaded WinISD and have gone through several online tutorials. I added a database entry for the Dayton sub with all the relevant specs from the datasheet and have been tweaking several different box volumes, tuning frequencies, etc... I'm at the point where as a first time designer, I feel like I could use some feedback so I'm turning here to hopefully get some guidance.

Some of the assumptions I've made so far for this build are... (feel free to disagree or correct me)
    • The size of the sub and the rated wattage of the amp calls for a ported enclosure as I don't think a sealed box with 70amps would get nearly loud enough.
    • My friend built some Overnight Sensations for his systems and my assumption is that this sub setup would be a good compliment.
    • I plan to use 3/4" MDF for the enclosure as I'm wary of using 1/2" MDF for a subwoofer.