Overnight Sensations MTM Bass Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overnight Sensations MTM Bass Question

Newbie on the forum here. I purchased an OS MTM kit back in 2015 and finally got around to building some prototype cabinets and such. I am quite pleased with the outcome but the bass seems to be "rolling" and not tight like I expected it to be. I am a hobbyist woodworker with an interest in speaker cabinet design but don't know much about the technical side of things. I was wondering what might make sense here (if anything). I have attached a pic for reference. Both ports come out of the bottom. I had hoped this design would allow the speakers to be mounted on the wall with a "french cleat" but my initial trial of that concept did not sound well at all. I then threw together some quick stands and pulling them out away from the wall about 18" and pointed at the listener seems to give the best results. Any ideas on how to tighten up the bass? Thanks.

Joel

What type of programming are you playing? Lower frequencies in Home theater may be overdriving the OSs beyond their capabilities. If it is a HT receiver, try invoking the receiver's HP filter on the front mains.

Also, when you say "Both ports come out the bottom." I presume you mean one ort for each speaker cabinet; correct?

Comment

• djg
      djg commented
      Editing a comment
      The DIYSG OSMTM kit has two ports.

• Millstonemike
      Millstonemike commented
      Editing a comment
      My bad. I didn't read the "fine print".

Two ports? IIRC, the ot are generous with the bass so mounting them on the wall are probably not the best placement. I had them out about 4' from the wall.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0003.jpg
Views:	371
Size:	438.2 KB
ID:	1457717
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...khanspires-but
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...pico-neo-build
    http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...ensation-build

Comment