Inline fuse protectors for horns?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inline fuse protectors for horns?

Hey guys, since my old Peavey 22a drivers are hard to come by and would need to depend on aftermarket diaphragms for replacement, I would like protect them best as I can. I have no knowledge of this except for the info which I have been finding on the net so I would appreciate if you guys here can help please?

First, the drivers are around 40 watts continuous [80 Peak], there isn't a documentation available anymore for the 22A but peavey tech said I can go by the 22T:

https://peavey.com/manuals/80300843.pdf

I want to use an Amp which is around 300W at 8 Ohms per channel so how does one know which fuse to get and also which is better a one-time or self-resetting please? Thx.

FWIW, I use fairly low power series resistors to my horns. My application is hi-fi though, so that may not be appropriate for PA use.
    Francis

Comment

Fuses either blow too soon or not soon enough. One method of protecting HF compression drivers is with 24v aircraft light bulbs. When they heat their resistance goes up, so more voltage is dropped by the bulb, less by the driver, and worst case they blow. https://www.parts-express.com/Eminen...r-Fuse-290-659
      The only sure way to protect drivers, be they woofers or HF, is with a limiter that inserts between the mixer and power amp.
      www.billfitzmaurice.com
      www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Comment

Bill has a good point. Does your loudspeaker management box have a limiter you can set?
        Francis

Comment

Oh I see, I had thought the fuse would be the simplest thing which works. Yes we can set the limiter.

Comment

Fuses react to current. The current into a driver varies with frequency, so what would protect the driver at one frequency would not at another.
            www.billfitzmaurice.com

Comment

Fuses are a little iffy even protecting electronics, except from gross overload.