YANAB - Yet Another Noob Amiga Build - A cry for help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• YANAB - Yet Another Noob Amiga Build - A cry for help

Noob warning, sorry. I did try to search the forums first, but I'm afraid maybe I don't know the right lingo or something? I'm not finding answers though. I'm building the Amiga MT kit. I wired up the crossovers and tested them connected to the speakers, and both the woofer and tweeter produce quite a noticeable buzzing sound as soon as the receiver is turned on, before I even start playing any music. When I start playing music it sounds nice, but the buzzing remains and can be heard quite well over the music.

I've never wired up a crossover before, and to be frank, I've never even soldered anything before. I'm a true noob here. Seems like there are a lot of things that could go wrong, so I'm thinking a decent place to start is to make sure I haven't screwed something up in the crossover. Both crossovers produce the buzzing.

Thoughts I've had, including some beyond the crossover are
    1. The receiver is very old, maybe there is something wrong with it? I don't have any other receiver that takes these kind of bare wire inputs though to test that theory. But I could try to figure something out if this is a likely culprit.
    2. I connected 6 wires in one hideous embarrassment of solder in the middle of the board. The diagrams seemed to indicate this was ok, but I'm not confident in readng the diagrams. I did twist all those wires together first as best I could.
    3. The corners of the 2.4 and 5.1 resistors are very close to each other. Is that ok?
    4. For testing, I've been connecting the wires to the speakers with either painters tape or binder clips. Is this ok, it wouldn't cause buzzing right? I don't have any alligator clips but I could go get some.