Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where do I start if I'm a newbie speaker builder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do I start if I'm a newbie speaker builder?

Here's the deal. I know absolutely nothing about speaker building, but I'm really eager to learn the ropes and I've been wondering about the most efficient way to do that. Any pointers would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Build a kit first. No matter what you choose, you'll learn a lot.
    Francis

Comment

+1, read a lot and ask questions, this is a very generous group. You're way ahead, most newbies buy some drivers and then ask how to use them together. A plan that almost never works well.

Start by telling the group how you'll use them (music, HT, both), size of room, your expectations, your budget, equipment you'll drive them with. This we'll give us a starting point for appropriate recommendations.

Proven kits designed by accomplished builders are available from here at PE, Madisound, Meniscus, diy sound group. You can even get flat packs for the enclosures for many.

Great read in the stickies on this forum at:

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...peaker-designs

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/fo...building-bible

I wouldn't bother with the PE gallery at this point as many/most of the designs there are by amateurs using off the shelf crossovers.

Comment

If you want to jump in deeper waters you can find a project someone built, and imitate it. You will then need to do all the woodworking yourself, and find all the parts. Starting from scratch sometimes works out, but you have a tall mountain to climb. The drivers and the box baffle affect the crossover, and crossovers have made grown men cry. You have been warned
        Francis

Comment

Originally posted by dwigle View Post