Classix 2.5 Build Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Classix 2.5 Build Thread

I'm about to start building a pair of Classix 2.5 speakers, its been a while since I did a build thread for any sort of project I've made (elsewhere, woodworking forums). Recently I finished building a Wifi/Bt boombox that was my first foray into speaker building, though I've been a hobby woodworker a long time and have built quite a bit of furniture. I'm currently nearing the end of a cabinet build that's styled like an old 50's/60's Hifi, but meant for charging devices (tablets/computers/video game controllers/etc..), with the speaker fabric being used to prevent excessive heat buildup.

I chose the Classix 2.5 because they seem pretty perfect for me. These speakers will likely be 100% for music; they are going to be used in the basement (office, workout, and video game space). I listen to all types of music, but mostly rock; I prefer live recordings (Phish/Dead/Panic esp) over studio stuff, low quality recordings are pretty par for the course, especially older "bootlegs"., I do turn it up a fair bit and occasionally will crank the hip hop. My 3 boys love dance parties and they aren't so into my lame dad music, modern pop for them.