Proper application of polyurethane - Need help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper application of polyurethane - Need help

I am no expert when it comes to finishing. I am working on my coffee table subwoofer. Last night I applied one coat of minwax semi-gloss poly spray and then 1 hour later applied one coat of brush on minwax poly.

Should I add another coat?
    Should I sand in between?

Re: Proper application of polyurethane - Need help

I would sand before I put on anymore finish. I would use 220 or finer if you like. If it doesn't powder up when you sand give it more dry time. I would put as many coats until you get the desired build up. Three is usually good. Remember careful on the edges you can sand through very easy. Using a sanding block helps a lot.
    http://www.pellegreneacoustics.com/

Trench Seam Method for MDF
    https://picasaweb.google.com/101632266659473725850

Comment

On my latest speakers, Marcato, I applied 4 coats of gloss, Minwax polyurethane. I applied the first 3 coats with a brush to get really thick covering, sanding after the first 2 coats with 320-grit sandpaper. After the third coat I used fine steel wool to just dull the surface, and the last coat was a wipe-on of gloss Minwax which gave a very smooth, even and super glossy finish. I suspect just two brushed-on coats with one wipe-on coat would be fine, too.
      Paul

Comment

Originally posted by davepellegrene View Post
        I would sand before I put on anymore finish. I would use 220 or finer if you like. If it doesn't powder up when you sand give it more dry time. I would put as many coats until you get the desired build up. Three is usually good. Remember careful on the edges you can sand through very easy. Using a sanding block helps a lot.