Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: I love dogs, but...

Sometimes you gotta watch out for 'em.

As several of you know, I am a cable tech. Today, in the course of my job, I was bitten fairly severely by a Lab(!) in a customer's backyard. I had asked the customer if the dog was dangerous, and was told "not to me, but I don't know", so I followed her out at a respectful distance to find a good looking male black Lab chained outside. She went to pull him away from the area that I needed to work in, but he charged out of her grasp as I got closer, and plunked his forepaws down on my stomach. Thinking he was just being playful, as Labs will, I reached down to pat his head, whereupon he immediately sank his teeth into my left wrist, and would not let go.

I'm not permanently damaged, but he took a couple of good chunks out of my arm, and it is REALLY sore and stiff.:( Probably tomorrow, I'll look wistfully back on the wondrous time that is tonight, but as I said, no permanent damage, bones and tendons are intact. Still, at the moment it does kinda suck to be a lefty...:rolleyes:

Unfortunately, my love for dogs, and Retrievers in particular, probably contributed to my getting bitten, and to the severity. If I had been faced with a more notorious breed, I would have probably been much more cautious, and certainly would have recognized the event as an attack, rather than play a split second sooner, which may have mitigated the severity somewhat.

I won't be loving dogs any less, but I will be much more careful in the future, of that I can assure you.:o

Mark
    You go your way, I'll go mine. I don't care if we get there on time.

~Pink Floyd

Re: OT: I love dogs, but...

Hey Bud, sorry to hear about your injury.
    Do you have any legal recourse? Can you enlist the services of a Lawyer, and sue the owners?