PSA Backed Veneer is Awesome

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PSA Backed Veneer is Awesome

is there a downside to this stuff that i just haven't run into yet? i've got a decent amount of woodworking experience, but this is my first time working with veneer. the more gorgeous veneered projects i see on here, the more i've been wanting to give it a shot. ran down to rockler yesterday and picked up a PSA backed 2' x 2' sheet of some nice looking hickory for $25. cut, peel, stick, flush trim, sand, admire professional looking project. doesn't get much better than that . other than saving a little money, what are the arguments for contact cement or hot iron?

here's a few pics. sorry they're crappy cell phone pics... it's all i had available. still need to pick out a stain. have a ton of them in my stockpile, so i'll probably test a bunch of different ones on some of the scrap veneer and go from there.

Re: PSA Backed Veneer is Awesome

Very good veneer job. Especially on your 1st try. Curious, what's going in that nice looking cab?

Comment

they're actually interchangeable between wolf's dragon foals and zaph's b3s (but using the b3n). they're basically one giant testbed. boxes are a test of veneering. baffles are being painted flat black - using them to test some sealing/priming/painting methods i've never used before. speakers themselves are a test to try and figure out what i want to use in an active integrated ipod dock i'm planning to build for my girlfriend in the near future. as nice as they seem to be turning out, they will probably deserve to be used somewhere, so i'm thinking i'll wind up giving them to my parents to replace the crappy plastic cube sony htib speakers they currently have in their living room.

Comment

Keep us posted on your progress and opinions!
        I look forward to hearing them upon completion.

So- did you use the width of the DF or zaph's B3S/N design?
        They are ever so slightly different.
        Later,