Cauer / Elliptic Filter based crossover

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cauer / Elliptic Filter based crossover

Recently I started playing around with elliptic filters (also called "Cauer" filters) for crossovers. I started a thread about it over at DIY Audio, but I thought it would be of interest here as well. I will be implementing these using some active filter boards that I recently designed and posted about, also at DIY Audio.

For those not familiar with them, Elliptic filters have a very sharp transition band and one or more zeros (notches) in the stop band. Attenuation does not continue to increase in the stop band, but rises and falls below some minimum amount of attenuation. There is some ripple in the passband.

Like Chebyshev filters, Elliptic filters are not necessarily useful "as is" for crossovers. When you create the analogous HP filter from the LP one and sum up their signals, there is often a sharp peak of several dB at the corner frequency. To get around this, I "detune" the high Q stage of the filter so that the HP and LP stages overlap smoothly and their sum is more or less flat.