Lepai T2020A+ Repair/Upgrade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lepai T2020A+ Repair/Upgrade

Alright, so I've been using my Lepai amp for well over 2 months now. No problems, runs great. I decided to order two more. I was about to send them to my mom and brother but I figured I'd test them first. I tested the first one, and within 15 seconds there was smoke blowing out every crevice available.

I called up PartsExpress the next day and they sent me a new one free of charge and told me to keep the other one for spare parts or toss it. I figured I'd play with it a bit, so I took it apart.

It appears that what used to be an electrolyte capacitor exploded and left a sticky residue on much of the amp.

So I need some help. I have heard that people have been modding these for a while, but I find very few resources on the actual mods being done. I'd like to replace all of these capacitors with solid state capacitors as a start, and hopefully do something to improve the performance a bit.

Anyone know where I can get the needed parts? Is there a modding thread for these anywhere? I'd like to get some more output and replace parts with better parts to improve sound quality which I have heard has been done with some of these. If there's a thread somewhere that I missed, then that's all I'd really need. I'd also need to know where to get the parts I'll be replacing.

Also, does anyone know where I can get a more powerful power adapter for this? 12V at 2 amps wouldn't give me more than 24W total, yet this thing is supposedly rated for 20W RMS x 2. I imagine a 4 amp power adapter would do?

Thanks in advance!
    Modding the Lepai T-Amp

Re: Lepai T2020A+ Repair/Upgrade