Presenting the Aurbox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Presenting the Aurbox

Ok, so I just tried to post up this thread a minute ago and it had an error so I lost all I wrote. Now that Im tired of typing, Ill give the short version...

This is a design that was inspired by Don's Aurbacs. (Ok well its basically the same thing :rolleyes: ) OD 18"X12"X12" using 1/2" ply. Port dia 2", 5" deep. Lined with 1.5" foam fatress topper. Estimated F3 in the upper 40's. Powered by the ever popular dayton t-amp.

Without having any woodworking experience, I think I didnt do too bad. Granted I dont have a router to get the nice flush mount drivers, or fancy roundovers. I do have some electronics degree, and Im currently studying for a bachelors degree. With that being said, Im pretty proud on how the crossovers came out.

I must say, I am completely impressed in the sound quality and output that this thing has. No distortion when played wide open that I can tell. The only issue I have is that I find it hard to turn the damn thing off!

Big thanks to Don putting up with alot of my PM's. Hope you dont mind that I altered the name.

Re: Presenting the Aurbox

Comment

I see you got a little funky with that right tweeter hole? :p

Looks awesome. I would not mind having one of those, believe me. It looks incredible. I'll bet it sounds awesome too. Very nicely done. I absolutely love the paint job. Its given me some inspiration on how to paint my next speakers. What finish did you use? That looks like wrinkle paint...
      Modding the Lepai T-Amp

Comment

Originally posted by XtremeRevolution View Post
        I see you got a little funky with that right tweeter hole? :p

Looks awesome. I would not mind having one of those, believe me. It looks incredible. I'll bet it sounds awesome too. Very nicely done. I absolutely love the paint job. Its given me some inspiration on how to paint my next speakers. What finish did you use? That looks like wrinkle paint...