Iphone Dock + Amp...wiring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iphone Dock + Amp...wiring?

My wife wants an iphone dock for Christmas, so naturally I want to build here one rather than dropping about $300 for one that sounds good. Here's the problem...I need to charge the iphone and power two Aura NS3's. I haven't been able to find a single item that combines those two features, but what I was thinking is that I could combine an Apple Universal Dock with a DTA-2 Amplifier Module. The thing I don't know is how to wire both the dock and the amp to be powered by the same electrical cord since both items have wall-warts.

Does anyone know if this is possible? Is there a single solution that solves both the dock charging and amplification issues? There's got to be a way given the quantity of iphone dock systems out there!

Thanks for the help!

-j

Re: Iphone Dock + Amp...wiring?

I'm no expert so someone should eirher back me up or shoot me down..... That being said, you could get a power socket from radioshack and then also get 2 male connectors that fit into your devices. So it would go wall supply to box, then split signal inside the box.

Comment

Originally posted by dtkeith View Post
      I'm no expert so someone should eirher back me up or shoot me down..... That being said, you could get a power socket from radioshack and then also get 2 male connectors that fit into your devices. So it would go wall supply to box, then split signal inside the box.
      This is kind of what I was thinking I would do if I had to. I was hoping to somehow run both the amp and the dock off of the same power supply, but that may be asking too much. I don't really know a whole lot about voltage and power supply for amps and the like so this might be the best way to accomplish what I want without getting too crazy.

-j

Comment

For the amp, you need 12 VDC/ 2 A, for the dock, 5 VDC/500 mA. I'd look for a 12 to 15 VDC supply (wall-wart) capable of 3 Amps.