Vent velocity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vent velocity

What do you guys target as an acceptable vent velocity? I'm working on a small ported design that will use a 5" driver with a 1.5" port. The velocity is showing a max of 45m/s at about 38Hz. The design is 9.4L with an Fb of 45.9Hz. The 38hz is also where the driver will start to exceed xmax.

I've done plenty of sub designs, but this is my first attempt at a wide-range driver. The MarkAudio Alpair10. I need to start breaking these things in for another build later.
    https://www.facebook.com/Mosaic-Audi...7373763888294/

Re: Vent velocity

When I design ML-TLs I check the predicted port air velocity when the driver is being pushed to Xmax+15%. I don't like to ever exceed a port velocity of 5% of the speed of sound which is 17 m/s, about 1/3 of what you say is predicted for your vented design. It's not quite cut and dry, however, as the frequency at which the velocity peaks is also important. In your case with it peaking at 38 Hz, I would try to limit the velocity to 3% of the speed of sound, or ~10 m/s especially because 38 Hz is likely to be excited by most music. If it were peaking at 20 Hz, or lower, it wouldn't matter quite as much.
    Paul

Originally posted by isaeagle4031 View Post
    What do you guys target as an acceptable vent velocity? I'm working on a small ported design that will use a 5" driver with a 1.5" port. The velocity is showing a max of 45m/s at about 38Hz. The design is 9.4L with an Fb of 45.9Hz. The 38hz is also where the driver will start to exceed xmax.

I've done plenty of sub designs, but this is my first attempt at a wide-range driver. The MarkAudio Alpair10. I need to start breaking these things in for another build later.

Comment