TMWW... First DIY project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TMWW... First DIY project

Greetings everyone, I am very new to speaker design, but not electronics...

So for my first project, I have ordered the following:

Dayton Audio DMPC-5.6 5.6uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor Part Number: 027-425 (QTY 2)

Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter Part Number: 270-176 (QTY 2)

Vifa TC9FD-18-08 3-1/2" Full Range Paper Cone Woofer Part Number: 264-1062 (QTY 2)

GRS 8PR-8 8" Poly Cone Rubber Surround Woofer Part Number: 292-428 (QTY 4)

I have wired the mid and tweeter in series, with the caps going into the tweeter for protection from harmful freqs below around 3.7KHz. I have also wired the 8" woofers in series (2 per cab), and the mid/tweet, and woofer combos are wired in parallel at the binding posts. This should give me an 8 ohm load, but it reads 16 ohms until I remove the cap from the circuit. Is this because the cap keeps the mid/tweet circuit open until energized?

I don't have any equipment to measure or test the drivers. I am a big fan of less is more when it comes to electical components in speaker enclosures. I am hoping that with the frequency ranges of the drivers, that I will get a nice full range system. I plan on spacing the distance between the mid and tweet 3.6" cone to cone. I am doing this in the hopes of minimizing any lobing between the two. The cabinet is going to be sealed with a Vb=3.37ft3, =5284in3, =95.44L. The Vb is the result of an online enclosure design calculator I used, and will hopefully yield an Fb=33Hz @ -3dB. I am going to try them without flush mounting first, and then if they sound good, I will mount them to a solid 1x12pine board with 3/4"MDF behind. Anyone forsee any issues with this idea? The speaker enclosure will have the following dimensions:

Inside: 37"h x 10.5"w x 15"d

Outside: 38.5"h x 12"w x 17.5"d