Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dayton Audio DC28F-8 cutout diameter wrong on PE?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dayton Audio DC28F-8 cutout diameter wrong on PE?

There is no way in hell I can cut it out to 2.73 (3/4). There are speaker terminals that they must not be accounting for. I just did it with 3 9/16 and the terminals fit through fine. I'm going to go 1/16th of an inch smaller to 3 1/2 just so the screw holes will have a bit more latch on. At 3 1/2 I may have my speaker terminals sit on the back edge of the MDF cut hole. Am I doing something wrong?

Re: Dayton Audio DC28F-8 cutout diameter wrong on PE?

I just end up cutting a notch out for the terminals.
    HAGD,
    Marc

Even though I try to tell everyone upfront, understand that I am still a Newb. I wish the status of Seasoned Veteran/Senior Member, etc. was earned with time not posts...

TMWW thread

Maurbacs DCR Tower

Comment

Yup - you have to notch that out. There's several ways to go about it. I wouldn't advise to make the entire hole larger because you won't have enough material left for your screw holes. Like Marc said - cut a notch....sort of like this, but only one in your case.

Bryan K.

Midwest Audio Club

Speedster | Sub Attachť | The Wildeman | Sean's NLA Towers | CO‹GAR, COUGAR II and CO‹GAR JR | Triton | Lithium | J-Boom | Trym MLTL | Docere MLTL

Comment

I'm sure all of us who use this marvelous little tweeter are running into the same problem. The magnet actually measures 2.75", but there is a larger ring next to the faceplate -- it actually is part of the faceplate. That ring requires that the mounting cutout (we used to call it a "hole";) be cut to 2.9." Following that, simply cut out a notch to accomodate the terminals, approximately 1/2" deep and 1.25" wide. You will need to bend the terminals in a little toward the magnet. This done, they fit like a glove.

GeeDeeEmm

Comment