3-Way builds, Impedance Matching Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-Way builds, Impedance Matching Help

I am wanting to build some 3-ways with the new Dayton RSS Paper cone... I would like to use the 7" 8Ω , the 4" 8Ω, and a Dayton Silk Dome 4Ω tweeter. Is this at all possible? I don't see that Dayton makes a RSS 8Ω tweeter, so I am trying to get some help with this. I have built subwoofers, and am currently building some now that I have a post about... But that said - I have never built a 3-way speaker. I'm a guitar and amp tech - so I understand a lot of the concepts, etc... but I don't have much experience with Crossovers. I have Xover Pro, so any advice (if my preferred drivers will work) on how to go about it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge!
    Different Is Not Bad; It Is Quite The Same

Re: 3-Way builds, Impedance Matching Help

Absolutely possible. with those drivers though a 2way is easily doable. I'm sure there are already a few people on here that are working on 2way designs with the 180p and rs28s. Not that a 3way couldn't or shouldn't be done, just that there may not he much benefit from it.

Xover pro tends to want to throw a lot more parts at the xover than necessary.
    https://www.facebook.com/Mosaic-Audi...7373763888294/

Comment

So, what program would do well at helping me design a crossover for a 2 way system other than Xover? Also, by 2-way, are you meaning to run the 7" and the 4" drivers in Parallel to create a 4Ω load for the crossover to see? Or are you meaning, cut out the 4" driver? I would really like to use all 3, if not unreasonable. I just think it would be nice to run a 3 driver setup, and I suppose I could do an MTM or 2 7" driver setup instead. I realize there are countless possibilities. I would just like to use these new Dayton Paper cone drivers in a project for a "reasonably" full range pair. Thanks so much!

Comment