Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie looking for design help from the Masters!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie looking for design help from the Masters!!

Hey Guys,

I'll start this thread by letting you know that I'm new to DIY audio but very enthusiastic about learning the art of speaker building. I've got decent woodworking skills and the tools to match but my abilities in the areas of speaker/crossover design are non-existent.

Now to the project:

We are in the midst of renovation and, being an electronic enthusiast, I used this as an excuse to upgrade all my audio/video gear. After poking around on the internet a bit I came across Part Express and decided to do all custom speakers in my family room. These speakers will do double duty in home theater / music. I'll have a 5.2 system with 2 x 10" Ultimax subs (I've got one, haven't put it together yet). The front sound stage is going to be built-in, not in-wall in the truest sense, but the speakers will be sealed units set into pre-made recesses in the wall (see photos below). This room is large and is open to the kitchen / dining room.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0279.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	1187199Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0280.JPG
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	1187200Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0281.JPG
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	1187201

Initially I had sized the opening the inside dimensions of 24" X 9.5" X 7.5" and had intended on doing a horizontal MTM design. After reading all the scathing indictments of horizontal MTM designs I went back to the drawing board, re-sized the opening to 16" X 9.5" X 7.5" and started leaning towards a 3-way T/MW design with a woofer sitting next to a tweeter over mid-woofer. Sort of like this:

Name:	TMW.png
Size:	13.1 KB
ID:	1187202