Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Center Channel 2 way vs 3 way does it matter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Center Channel 2 way vs 3 way does it matter?

Re: Center Channel 2 way vs 3 way does it matter?

Originally posted by xsilverjag View Post
    Greetings,

I currently have a pair of Selah SSRs. I’ve been running them with a phantom center for about 6 months. I’m considering buying the 3 way Selah Sardonyx kit but I’ve been hesitant due too the cost and its not really a timber match to the scanspeak in the SSR. I picked up the SSRs used at a good price, so if it makes since to timber match and go towards a different build completely, I’m not opposed to changing. I will probably change to a full size tower anyways since I’m moving my system to a larger space. I have built a few DIY speakers in the past, but simple builds such as encores and overnight sensations; however I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty and have the tools required to build a more complicated system.
    First question: does timber matching matter?

Second: I’ve been considering building ER18MTMs with the ER15 center… however the center is only a 2 way? Am I better off picking a build using a 3way center like CJD's Khancenter, Swope Center or other suggestions? (Statement center would be sweet… however I don’t have a open space for it)
    I’d appreciate any suggestions, my budget can go up to 1,500, these speakers will be used for 50% music 50% ht.
    Thanks for your help
    It helps to have matching speakers across the front, but it's not mandatory. And the use of a MTM laying on its side for a center can work just fine. However, if you're prone to sitting more than 15 degrees off axis, you'll start to get response issues due to the pair of woofers cancelling each other (comb filtering). If you want wider coverage, you'll want the tweeter and mid in a vertical alignment and cross well below 1000Hz to the pair of woofers.