Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Delux Boombox - ideas?? +reward

Hey all.

First, a big thanks to this community for help in the past with various designs/ideas, even though I am a noob.

Now, I am planning a Christmas present for my brother. I want to make a delux boombox. Please comment/add ideas. I will be adding pictures probably by mid november as I get underway in the build, but have to wait till then because of money. It is either a delux boombox, or if the money just isn't there, a smaller desktop build or small towers.

GOAL (at this point): best sound for the money AND a lot of functionality. Wide dispersion sound for near-field (low x-over) but good room-filling sound (carpeted room, 7ft ceiling, floor 25ft square)

IDEAS: Use a car audio receiver for power, because they offer decent rms output/quality, and have four channels with good crossover settings built in. Perhaps I can power tweeters/mids separately if the speaker part of the project is just 2 speakers, each a tweeter/mid. Also, receivers have the built-in cd player, remote control, bluetooth, and cool lights... radio... etc. So why not! I don't think my brother would mind trading a little sound quality for a lot of functionality.

SPEAKERS CONSIDERED: da175's for the mids, mated with a tweeter good at wide dispersion... I really like the wide soundstage sound and usually find some tweeters are better off-axis and just offer a great soundstage... no tweet selected yet though. Also considered 4 small fullrange drivers per side for the front channels, and route the rear channels to a pair of the 5 1/4 tangband sub that some say really does do well on even 15ish watts rms... May want to do something different too, that has never been done.