HD Radio, does anyone use it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HD Radio, does anyone use it?

Would anyone with HD Radio in home or car care to comment on any advantages or disadvantages? I'm thinking of getting a new car stereo and am intrigued by HD but don't know if it's worth it or if I'll even use it. I understand that it can include title and artist info but is there any improvement in sound quality or reception range?

Re: HD Radio, does anyone use it?

Clarity is better than regular radio - that alone is worth it, though not CD quality but comparable to XM. Also, HD radio has more channels than the regular radio. I have it in my car and like it better than regular radio - same programming, better clarity. depend how much more you gotta pay for it - mine came with it as default.

Comment

I've been using an HD Radio tuner in my audio systeme for several years. I got it because my local PBS station with classical music switched to HD transmission. It works fine and sound fine. That said, I only use it for background and low-level music, and I don't care about it providing artist and title, etc.
      Paul

Originally posted by Dirttracker73 View Post
      Would anyone with HD Radio in home or car care to comment on any advantages or disadvantages? I'm thinking of getting a new car stereo and am intrigued by HD but don't know if it's worth it or if I'll even use it. I understand that it can include title and artist info but is there any improvement in sound quality or reception range?

Comment

I like HD radio in my car as it gives me a few more options. Seems like fewer commercials. A few stations jack around with the eq. with makes them sound terrible.
        John H

Synergy Horn, SLS-85, BMR-3L, Mini-TL, BR-2, Titan OB, B452, Udique, Vultus, Latus1, Seriatim, Aperivox,Pencil Tower

Comment

Clarity is better than regular radio - that alone is worth it, though not CD quality but comparable to XM.