Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• baby boomer build blog

Hi all,

I haven't posted in a while. Not sure if build logs belong more in techtalk or the speaker gallery forum these days.
    If I should move it, please let me know.

Anyway, I've decided to build a subwoofer and after much deliberation settled on Jeff B's Baby Boomer. I figure i would document the process here. This is my first project in a while, so I'll also ask some questions along the way.

Interesting side note: because my home does not allow for much shop space, I joined a local "maker space" which has a well appointed communal wood-shop. It was pretty awesome using a sawstop with a huge outfeed table, commercial grade dust collection, etc. I'll try to fit in some picture of the space as I go along.

Day #1:

Yesterday I got the mdf cut to size and made the cut-outs for the passive radiators and the subwoofer driver.
    Pictures of the progress attached (will work on making future images higher quality).

Pile of cab sides (a few extras in case I mess up)
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2179.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	1193219

Woofer cut-out

Name:	IMG_2181.JPG
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	1193220

Passive radiator cut-out

Name:	IMG_2182.JPG
Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	1193221

A few questions for the group:

1. I hate t-nuts and swore them off after my last build. I'm not the type to uninstall drivers frequently. My hope is that this will be a sub that I build, put in a corner of my media room, and let it do its thing for years. The passives are light and I think the #8PE black oxide screws will be fine. The sub driver is heavier but not a monster (Dayton Classic DCS-255). Because of the deep rabbet required there is about 3/8" of MDF to mount into. What do you think? Will #10 black oxide screws be enough or should I consider #10 bolts with nuts and washers?