DATS and Calibration Hell

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DATS and Calibration Hell

Like many of you, I've had a hell of a time calibrating DATS version 1.02 to consistently work every time. It's been total hell, until today. On top of everything else, I upgraded to Windows 10, so when I needed DATS to calibrate properly in order to measure a woofer for Beau, I got nothing but crap. I thought about going back to W7, but then decided to tweak a few things to see if I could solve this issue. So, I started playing with the different settings in the Sound panel, especially the Level in the Recording tab. DATS recommends that the level be set to 1, but as I increased the level, the calibration got better, and the phase and impedance plot lines got cleaner. With my current recording level at 18, DATS calibrated in one shot, and measurements are clean. Take a look for yourself. You may want to play with the recording level in your particular set up if you're having issues. I had a lot of problems calibrating with W7, but all my computers have since migrated to Win10, so if someone can test this and let us know. Thanks.

Pic 1: Mic Level at 1 as recommended.
    Pic 2: TS done at Level 1.
    Pic 3: Mic Level at 18.
    Pic 4: TS done at Level 18.
    Attached Files
    Some people are addicted to Vicodin. I'm addicted to speaker building.

The Chorales - Usher 8945A/Vifa XT25TG Build
    ESP Project 101 Lateral MOSFET Amplifier
    LM4780 Parallel Chipamp
    Sonata Soundbar Project
    The Renditions - Active/Passive Towers

Re: DATS and Calibration Hell

I've noticed it helps to plug into the same USB port every time and make sure it's plugged in before opening DATS. I let mine sit for about 1 min before trying to calibrate. After doing this, I haven't had any issues.
    -Kerry

www.pursuitofperfectsound.com

Comment

Dats Hell. In Theaters this Summer.
      I have been there too but never tried any other settings. Thank you for sharing.