X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Butterworth 3 in PCD?

Attached Files
    John H

Synergy Horn, SLS-85, BMR-3L, Mini-TL, BR-2, Titan OB, B452, Udique, Vultus, Latus1, Seriatim, Aperivox,Pencil Tower

Re: Butterworth 3 in PCD?

So, you're trying to reduce the vertical nulls?

Comment

Originally posted by jhollander View Post
      I’m building a MTM center channel and I would like to use a BW3 to minimize the off axis dip. Having recently learned that the BW3 is identified more by the phase than driver roll offs I created this x-o.

In this sim it appears to me I have a 90 degree driver separation plus a 180 degree rotation for a total of 270 degrees.

Electrically the filters are second order but the slopes are not close to BW3

So is this a BW3?
      Close, but not quite. While it's true that you need to look at the phase relationship and how the drivers sum to determine the crossover type, these are not exactly summing in the crossover region the way a BW3 crossover would. There's a bit too much overlap for BW3. Also, do you really mean to take the tweeter that low? That's certainly going to push it's performance limits. My recommendation would be to move the crossover point up a bit in frequency and decrease the overlap at the same time. You can probably do this by modifying only the tweeter circuit. This should dial it in a bit closer to BW3 behavior in the crossover region.
      Click here for Jeff Bagby's Loudspeaker Design Software

Comment

Originally posted by Jeff B. View Post