$vboptions[bbtitle]   $vboptions[bbtitle]  
  Terms and Conditions     Project Showcase
  Resource Index   Speaker Terms Glossary
  Security/Privacy   Speaker Replacement Help

Default passive crossover wiring

I just bought a a pair of the cheapest three-way passover crossover circuits PE sells. Everything looks in order but (as I'm new at this), I'm not sure how to wire them up.

I've located the two slots for each speaker wire going into each unit. So far, so good.

On the other end (splitting audio out to my woofer, tweeter and midrange), there are six slots. There's no paperwork with this so I'm trying to make sure I don't cross my wires.

Because the six lines are almost two-by-two, my first assumption was that I was looking at the positive and negative for each device, but on the plate, there's a caption that identifies them as follows (from left to right):

M+ C C C [Common] W+ T+

I'm going to assume that all the pluses are positive lines for each device and all the Cs are the other wire (common). This means, of course, that I'd better make sure I don't get any of the lines crossed or I'm going to get fireworks.

Have I got this right?

Default Re: passive crossover wiring

I'm not sure which crossover you are using, but in general, crossovers use a common negative (-) attachment point for all drivers, and each positive (+) lead has it's own specialized terminal for each driver -- woofer, mid and tweeter. Just hook the negative wire for each speaker to a negative (-) terminal on the crossover, and each positive wire for each speaker to it's W+, M+, and T+ lead on the crossover.
    Also, if you accidentally wire one of the speakers backwards, you won't get fireworks, just possibly a hollow or empty sound. Some crossovers actually reverse the mid or tweeter polarity on purpose to get a more balanced sound due to phase issues.
    TomZ