$vboptions[bbtitle]   $vboptions[bbtitle]  
  Terms and Conditions     Project Showcase
  Resource Index   Speaker Terms Glossary
  Security/Privacy   Speaker Replacement Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MASH cd player

Default MASH cd player

What's the difference between a MASH cd player -1992 era and all the other cd players out there. I picked up a Panasonic MASH cd player for $10. It didn't play until I took it apart and cleaned it up. But what blows my mind is that it sounds better than my Sony ES player that I paid $500.

Default Re: MASH cd player

Never heard of it. Got any more information? I'm not an electrical engineer and I don't know what makes one player sound good and another bad, but I'm not really surprised that cheap players can sound really good. I mean, really. CDs were developed in the 70s. It should only cost penny's for a great sounding DAC now days. It's 16bit technology.

All also says "multi stage noise shaping" on the front panel.

Blog Entries

I wish I had bought one when I had the chance too. That is what MASH stands for you laid out there. MASH has a reputation that keeps on going (and does sound very good!!!!) despite the elimination from the Panasonic/Technics lineup.

If I could come across a good one, even a single-disc, I would likely buy one myself; preferably a Technics. I still have my Panny porta-CD player with MASH on it. Sounds GREAT!!

Sorry- I don't know what it really meant but only that it sounded immensely good.

Later,
    Wolf
    "Wolf, you shall now be known as "King of the Zip ties." -Pete00t
    "Wolf and speakers equivalent to Picasso and 'Blue'" -dantheman
    "He is a true ambassador for this forum and speaker DIY in general." -Ed Froste
    "We're all in this together, so keep your stick on the ice!" - Red Green aka Steve Smith
    "We don't just make a crossover, we make a statement!" - Lawrence Fishburne for Cadillac

*InDIYana 2014 event*

Photobucket pages: