$vboptions[bbtitle]   $vboptions[bbtitle]  
  Terms and Conditions     Project Showcase
  Resource Index   Speaker Terms Glossary
  Security/Privacy   Speaker Replacement Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Golden ear training

Hi,

I'm not a singer, I don't play any instruments and I'm not an audio engineer... so I'm looking for a way to train my ears! I want to do more than just listen to my favorite recordings when I'm voicing/auditing a speaker.

Got any advice ? I'm open to suggestions!

I should add that I'm not completely noob and have already done some reading ... (Sound Reproduction, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Testing Loudspeakers, etc).

I've tried this trick but turns out to be not so practical!

Thanks,
    Chuck

Default Re: Golden ear training

harman's got this.

Quote Originally Posted by asdf View Post
    harman's got this.
    This is exactly the kind of stuff i'm looking for!!!

Edit : I've just noticed that this is your first post! Welcome on PE's forum!

Thank you very much,
    Chuck

That's an actual job though.

Go to an acoustic concert.
    रेतुर्न तो थे स्रोत

return to the source

I've found the work of Mastering Engineer Bob Katz ( Mastering Audio: The Art and Science ) to be insightful. He conducts seminars on critical listening.

Even this simple tool helps pitch ID acuity.
    http://sft.sourceforge.net/

Quote Originally Posted by greywarden View Post
    I agree. If you don't know what a band or specific instruments sound like in real life, then it's pretty inane to try and judge speakers by how "true" they reproduce music. Some of the most amazing stuff I've heard is genres I don't really listen to, E.g. a live bluegrass trio playing in a local coffee shop without the need or use of amplification-- just plain instruments. If I ever hear some speakers that can sound like that kind of live music, then they are winners for sure.