$vboptions[bbtitle]   $vboptions[bbtitle]  
  Terms and Conditions     Project Showcase
  Resource Index   Speaker Terms Glossary
  Security/Privacy   Speaker Replacement Help
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Blue Icicle question???

    I'm working on getting a setup working so I can do some speaker measurement; ARTA and/or HOLM. I've been getting a lot of help from some very knowledgeable TT members. Things aren't going very well and we're thinking there might be a hardware issue. I'm using a Blue Icicle, but in device manager (the BI is labeled USB Multi-Channel Audio Device), it says the USB device cannot start (Code 10). I know this is referring to my BI because when I unplug the BI, the USB Multi-Channel Audio Device entry goes away. I'm using Windows 7.
    Any suggestions how I can get the BI "started?"
    Thanks,
    Mike
    Mike Jennens
    "We're speaker geeks, not speaker nerds. Nerds make money!" Marty H
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    My Current System: Marantz PM8003 amp, Squeezebox Touch, and Continuum TLs
    My Other Current System:Pioneer SX-950 or Jolida SJ502B and DIY Carmichaels (Thanks Paul C)
    Still Another System: Sony STR5800SD, MarkAudio CHP-70s in a Planet 10 Slim GR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yonkers, NY
    Posts
    890

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Check windows support. There is a possible device driver issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Quote Originally Posted by kenny_k View Post
    Check windows support. There is a possible device driver issue.
    Thanks for the info. I just emailed them. Hopefully this will solve my problem.
    Mike
    Mike Jennens
    "We're speaker geeks, not speaker nerds. Nerds make money!" Marty H
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    My Current System: Marantz PM8003 amp, Squeezebox Touch, and Continuum TLs
    My Other Current System:Pioneer SX-950 or Jolida SJ502B and DIY Carmichaels (Thanks Paul C)
    Still Another System: Sony STR5800SD, MarkAudio CHP-70s in a Planet 10 Slim GR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    6,606

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    I use mine with XP and there are no issues, plug it in and it loads the drivers, then in the HolmImpulse control panel it shows up as a USB Mic. You can tell it's working by turning on the Record Meter.

    I just remembered, I loaded my shop laptop with W7 a few months back and the Blue works the same on it as it did with XP.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Quote Originally Posted by billfitzmaurice View Post
    I use mine with XP and there are no issues, plug it in and it loads the drivers, then in the HolmImpulse control panel it shows up as a USB Mic. You can tell it's working by turning on the Record Meter.

    I just remembered, I loaded my shop laptop with W7 a few months back and the Blue works the same on it as it did with XP.
    I happen to have an older laptop with XP on it. When I use it, it recognizes my BI. However, I get the following error when I click on the StratRec icon - "waveInOpen: The specified format is not supported or cannot be translated. Use the capabilities function to determine the supported formats." I have no idea what that is and I can't find anything I can use on a Google search. All I can say is GRRRRRR!
    Thanks,
    Mike
    Mike Jennens
    "We're speaker geeks, not speaker nerds. Nerds make money!" Marty H
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    My Current System: Marantz PM8003 amp, Squeezebox Touch, and Continuum TLs
    My Other Current System:Pioneer SX-950 or Jolida SJ502B and DIY Carmichaels (Thanks Paul C)
    Still Another System: Sony STR5800SD, MarkAudio CHP-70s in a Planet 10 Slim GR

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    6,606

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejennens View Post
    I happen to have an older laptop with XP on it. When I use it, it recognizes my BI. However, I get the following error when I click on the StratRec icon - "waveInOpen: The specified format is not supported or cannot be translated. Use the capabilities function to determine the supported formats."
    When I look at it in Device Manager it shows up as USB P n P (plug and play, I imagine) device. What is StratRec? ARTA? Can't help you there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Jeff

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Laurel Hill, FL
    Posts
    4,083

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Idk man, I just plug mine in and it works... There has never been an issue other than audio input/output swapping, which takes all of a few seconds to sort out...
    रेतुर्न तो थे स्रोत

    return to the source



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yonkers, NY
    Posts
    890

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Try changing USB ports. One may act as the primary and may cure your problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Appleton
    Posts
    7,534

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    I've got a fairly old (5yr+?, and CHEAP) Compaq tower running Vista Home, and just using the onboard sound (chip). It's got 2 USBs on the front panel. If I right-click on the little speaker icon (down on the "tray"?) and open up "Recording Devices", it says:
    MICROPHONE - Realtek HD Audio - Not plugged in
    LINE IN - Realtek HD Audio - Not plugged in

    As soon as I plug my Blue Icicle into EITHER port, I hear a tone ("ba-loop"), and immediately, added to the top of the list (with a green checkmark) I see:
    MICROPHONE - Blue Icicle - Working

    I've never had any issues with it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Upstate' NY
    Posts
    1,770
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Blue Icicle question???

    Mike,

    I've got blue icicle working on a very old Compaq laptop and Windows 7. I suspect like peepaj that it is a corrupt Windows driver that comes with the operating system (not a downloadable driver). Are you using the laptop for anything else? If not, perhaps a re-install of the operating system and an update might be the way forward.

    John

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Your #1 Source for Audio, Video & Speaker Building Components


Clearance Center
Deal of the Day
New Products




View Our latest
Sales Flyer

Prices Effective
Through 8/31/14


Order our FREE 336 Page Full Color Catalog


Speaker Component Categories

Home Audio Speakers

Professional Audio & Guitar Speakers

Car Audio Speakers

Speaker Buyouts

Measurement & Design Tools

Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers

Full-Range Plate Amplifiers

Crossover Components

Cabinet Hardware & Speaker
Grill Cloth

Speaker Cabinets

Subwoofer System Kits

Speaker Kits

Speaker Repair Parts

Speaker Wire