$vboptions[bbtitle]   $vboptions[bbtitle]  
  Terms and Conditions     Project Showcase
  Resource Index   Speaker Terms Glossary
  Security/Privacy   Speaker Replacement Help

Default OT: recent computer problems

ok, so more and more i'm seeing threads with posts commenting on malware. i have been a computer hobbyist since dos. windows has had it's fair(more than) share of virus problems. this is not the case today with a little prep. hype has not caught up with reality. if you are running windows 7 or 8, the only way to sure fire defend yourself from attacks, is not to click on stuff unless you know where it came from. even java updates have been subject to malware. now having said that, the only anti virus i've used since 7's launch is microsoft security essentials. every computer i work on or own has it. it has never failed me. it's called windows defender on 8. same thing different name. and it's free. all of the time.

another thing i would use is McAfee(ok, so he shot his neighbor) site adviser. this will literally stop you from going to sites that have been reported, or likely contain, all of the bad stuff on the net. links included.

to the norton and McAfee users, nothing is lighter in windows 7 than WSE. in 8 windows defender is a force to be reckoned with, as long as you can resist clicking on the "get 100 smileys for free!" ads. nothing can protect you from yourself.

ok last point. tv commercial cures for pc woes rarely ever work(for long). i won't mention names. a vast majority of these things just charge you money for a software, and then a year later they cripple your pc again pending a new "update" payment. be careful where you spend your money.

all of this is my opinion. i just figure, i want to help people that are on this forum trying to spend their money on projects, and not on stuff that won't help anyways. i get nothing for doing this. i just wanted to share my experience.

Default Re: OT: recent computer problems