Doing A System Install - Requesting Comments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doing A System Install - Requesting Comments

An elementary school has asked me to spec out a sound system for their multi-purpose room (gym/lunch/stage). The Parent Teacher Organization will be buying the equipment directly and then I will do the installation for free. I am an Electronics Tech and routinely do repairs on this type of equipment, but designing installations is out of my area of expertise.

I was hoping to get some input from the pro sound folks here before submitting my proposal to the PTO.

The room is approximately 55 by 45 feet with about a 20 foot high ceiling. There is no sound treatment on the walls, but the acoustics are not as "bright" as might be expected in this type of room. Maybe the rough brick is killing some of the brightness? The sound system will be used for stage shows, dances, and movies.

The Room:

This is the system that I propose to install:

(2) Electro-Voice TX1152 Tour X 15" 2-Way PA Speakers (One on each side of the stage - wall-mounted, slightly lower than the existing column speakers, and about 5' further away from the stage.)

(1) Electro-Voice TX1181 Single 18" Subwoofer (On castors and stored under the stage when not required.)
    100 dB sensitivity, 500 watts rms 132 dB maximum SPL "An integrated low pass filter allows the TYX1181 to be connected in parallel with one a TX1152 on a single amplifier channel, eliminating the need
    for additional amplifier channels and processing."

(3) Shure SM58LC Microphones

(1) Shure PGX24/SM58 Handheld Wireless System

(1) Behringer FBQ2496 Feedback Destroyer Pro

(1) Tascam CD200i Compact Disc Player with iPod dock.

(1) Crown XLS100 Power Amplifier
    350 watts @ 4 ohms / 215 watts @ 8 ohms per channel . The sub would be on one channel (4 ohm load on that channel) No way to adjust sub output level?