Stentorians NS6 - First time speaker build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stentorians NS6 - First time speaker build

I'm new to the PE mailings and got the latest catalog with the Stentorians on the cover and immediately fell in absolute love. I've never seen speakers so awesome before (not an audiophile by any stretch). My current front home theater speakers are some cheezy outdoor Yamaha speakers leftover from my last move surrounded by really cheezy 3" bargain speakers which came with an all-in-one box set at Wally World. So, we're not talking a guy who knows his music, here.

My receiver is what I believe is a mid-low range model, a Yamaha HTR-5630, which I'm hoping will power these new towers reasonably well. Though if I'm wrong, please let me know!

I saved my pennies and ordered up the required product (and 2 extra speakers for spares) and ran off to Lowes for the MDF. I noticed a few of the panels in the design drawing looked thinner, so I bought 3/4" MDF and 5/8" particle board. Note, I had no idea what I was doing and hadn't found this forum yet, so everything you'll see is out of sheer ignorance, so please don't yell at me. Constructive criticism is entirely encouraged, though!

On to the build:

Here is the design I used. It is the same one featured in the fall 2011 catalog. Link is here

Used 5/8" particle board and 3/4" MDF cut using a clamped level and my skill saw using a plywood blade.

I tried to do as many cuts at once as I could to simplify the build, that way I could build them in tandem instead of one-off. This rarely works out well for me, but I was feeling lucky.

Cutting perfect in-line circles turned out to be much more difficult than I thought. The eye can easily pick up even a 1/8" misalignment, so perfection was key.