considering a line array build, using TC7FD00-04 2-1/2 speakers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• considering a line array build, using TC7FD00-04 2-1/2 speakers

I just happen to have a large number of these speakers (bought from parts express), which I've used in various projects. Despite their being tagged as "woofers", I've always been pretty impressed how far into the high end they go. In fact the "on axis" response goes clear out to 20Khz. Well I've I've been thinking of making a line array out of these. For background, I'm a musician and typically play guitar (electric and acoustic) and sing, in small clubs, using various samplers, drum machines, and sometimes home brewed tracks . I've built my own pair of floor speakers using traditional bass-reflex design, with 2 way crossovers to horn tweeters. they can be stacked as needed, or spaced apart "left and right" when there's an elevated stage available. I'll stack them in a long narrow room. But long narrow rooms are always a challenge, and I can't help notice how many musicians are starting to add line arrays to their setup. I can immediately see the advantages, especially in a club where there are often people sitting 20 feet or more away at a bar, and the musicians have to work from the floor off in some corner. in addition to some people sitting closer at tables, these line arrays nicely push some of the audio at all possible head heights, and offer significantly more clarity (you can understand the words being sung!) at a distance where you'd normally expect to hear only muddled tones, or alternately the harsh gritty tones from cheap horns on low budget PA speakers, that probably have more piercing 2kHz than anything.