Newbie needs help with sub enclosure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs help with sub enclosure

I am new to speaker enclosures. I am building a sealed box for this Dayton 8" sub. The stated enclosure size is 0.33 cubic feet. Do the dimensions of the box matter as long as the volume is the same? For example will a 10" x 10" x 5.7" box sound the same as a 17.5" x 10" x 3.26" box? TIA - Greg
    Dayton Audio SD215A-88 8" DVC Subwoofer

The F3 of that driver in a sealed box will only be 68 Hz... that's not really very low and not at all a 'subwoofer' as we normally think of them. I think you will be disappointed with that setup.

If you can give up a cubic foot or so it will do much better vented.
    As far as your other question, the box dimensions usually don't matter on subs as long as you don't get too extreme. the 3.26" dimension may be okay but that's kind of pushing it a bit in my opinion. According to the product page it's 3.74" deep, so unless you're planning on mounting it magnet side out, it won't fit in that box.

Can you go bigger with the box?

TomZ
    Zarbo Audio Projects Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEZ...aFQSTl6NdOwgxQ * 320-641 Amp Review Youtube: https://youtu.be/ugjfcI5p6m0 *Veneering curves, seams, using heat-lock iron on method *Trimming veneer & tips *Curved Sides glue-up video
    *Part 2 *Gluing multiple curved laminations of HDF

Comment

Generally speaking, for a sub the volume is all that matters. That's because the wavelengths concerned are so long that the box dimensions are short by comparison.
      Francis

Comment

Originally posted by tomzarbo View Post
        The F3 of that driver in a sealed box will only be 68 Hz... that's not really very low and not at all a 'subwoofer' as we normally think of them. I think you will be disappointed with that setup.

If you can give up a cubic foot or so it will do much better vented.