Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help understanding electric phase angle and it's effects on amplifiers

Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to understand the electric phase angles that result from XO designs and the real world problems they can present to the amplifier that's driving the speakers. I have seen folks smarter than I am reference rules of thumb for electric phase, saying it should be within +/- 30 degrees, and have a gentle slope to be nice to your amplifier. There are also some caveats to these rules depending on your impedance at the given frequency being high or low... but this has confused me up to this point. What actually happens to amplifiers that are presented with good vs. bad phase situations?

Can anyone help set me straight, or point me to a document that has this info in a relatively easy to understand format? I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, so all my crossover design experience has been practical rather than theory-based at this point. The finer points, and most of the "why we do things" still escapes me.

I've got an example chart attached just to help aid the conversation.

Thanks in advance!
    Keith

Attached Files
    Voxel Down Firing with Dayton SA70
    Translam Subwoofers - The Jedi Mind Tricks
    The Super Bees - Garage 2 way
    SevenSixTwo - InDIYana 2018 Coax
    The Defiants - InDIYana 2019 "Bare Minimum" Build

We have some real experts here (not me!)

Short answer, it causes the amplifier to draw too much current.
    The amp can overheat, or the magic smoke can escape.
    Not limited to crossovers, it's been known for a lone time.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_factor

I think I hear a difference - wow, it's amazing!" Ethan Winer: audio myths
    "As God is my witness I'll never be without a good pair of speakers!" Scarlett O'Hara

High value, high quality RS150/TB28-537SH bookshelf - TARGAS NLA!
    SB13/Vifa BC25SC06 MTM DCR Galeons-SB13-MTM
    My Voxel min sub Yet-another-Voxel-build