Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bbnet
    • Nov 2018

Tang Band SUG2-11 advice, tweaks, & suggestions welcome

Hello all - long time lurker but first time posting, thanks for helping create such a wonderful resource! I have a decent ear but no degree in speaker modeling and design like some of y'all.

A couple of years ago I combined the Dragon Foals by Wolf and the Voxel sub by Paul Carmody into a wonderful portable 2.1 boombox (big thanks to you two if reading this). Today I am long overdue in my plans to build a decent pair of speakers for the home.

Becoming enamored with the little voxel sub, I looked into tang bands website and discovered their plans for a two way floorstander that seems to be just what I'm looking for but have been unable to find any examples or critiques of it online.

The drivers for it are the Tang Band 25-1744S 1" Ceramic Dome Tweeter and the Tang Band W6-1721 6-1/2" Underhung Midbass Driver ( https://www.parts-express.com/tang-b...eeter--264-866 & https://www.parts-express.com/tang-b...river--264-874 ).

My concerns are:
    1. It could be virtually unknown because its a poor design.
    2. It could be improved upon with some crossover & cabinet tweaking.

So I seek the guidance & advice of this community in helping me to build, not build, or build these even better. Any and all questions, comments, suggestions, and curses most welcome.

Will be certain to log build here when the time comes.

• bbnet
    • Nov 2018

Here's the pertinent info from link above:

Technical Parameters
    PRODUCT NO.: SUG2-11
    DESCRIPTION: 6.5" 2 Way Floor-Standing Enclosure
    RATED POWER INPUT: 50 W
    FREQUENCY RESPONSE: 38~20K Hz
    RESONANCE FREQUENCY: 38 Hz
    NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 4 Ω
    CROSSOVER POINT: 2.9K Hz
    CABINET SIZE: 220*220*1000 mm (WxDxH)
    CABINET VOLUME: 30L
    PORT: 165mm(length) x 86mm(diameter)

Click image for larger version  Name:	SPLvFREQ.jpg Views:	1 Size:	22.8 KB ID:	1395128